The future of water

AN ECOSYSTEM REVOLVING AROUND FOODSTUFF NO.1 – WATER

Phoenix Design has developed a revolutionary, multifunctional platform around the digitisation of drinking water. In this way, a range of products has come about which blur the distinction between the digital world and the analogue world. A project with this scope has been shaped from scratch throughout several years of cooperation with a start-up company, evolving via numerous phases and resulting in an holistic and tangible ecosystem.

Challenges

Developing an holistic ecosystem comprising analogue and digital products.

Core content

Branding / Industrial Design / Web & App Design / Design System

Client

LUQEL Ltd, Dublin

Water Station
Ecosystem
Web Portal
Water Balancer
Smart Bottle
ECOSYSTEM BUILDING BLOCKS

An holistic ecosystem approach combines the best from the analogue and the digital product world.

DISCOVER

Water Station

01
YOUR IDEAL WATER

Which is the ideal water for different needs? Customized water! For making tea, for quenching one’s thirst after working out, to accompany a glass of wine. Mineralised, tempered, and carbonised as needed. The innovative LUQEL dosage technology allows perfectly precise adding even minute amounts of various minerals to the water from one single phygital source in order to achieve individual, customized water formulations.

This combined variety and precision has been an inspiration for the brand appearance which Phoenix Design has developed for LUQEL. To create a way to experience this radical and absolute innovation even via the design, and to stand out clearly from other kitchen devices: that was the task the Phoenix Design team tackled. What was to come to life was to be nothing less than a uniquely iconic design for a magical product experience.

USER-CENTRED DESIGN

Our personal relationship with products gives them their meaning, an essence which transcends their physical properties. Increasingly, human needs are no longer fulfilled via form and function, but via multi-sensory experiences and individual meaning. We have to empathise with people, have to know who they are, where they come from, what they need, expect, and desire.

That's why our focus is always on the user-centred approach, starting with smart control and operation and consistently linking the entire digital ecosystem. A case in point is the Water Bottle which is recognized by an RFID chip and thus integrated into a smart operating concept which allows a seamless experience. The format of the Water Station is also thought from a user-centred perspective, so that there's still enough space left on the kitchen counter thanks to the slim design and small space footprint.

Slideshow image
Slideshow image
Slideshow image
WATER STATION – THE FIRST OF ITS KIND

Reduction and perfection have always been the main goals both for craftsmen and for inventors, for in avoiding the unnecessary, you emphasise what’s important. In creating the LUQEL iconic product, we wanted to achieve a maximum of expressive power using only a minimum of expressive means. We tried to effectively balance the visual, the tactile, and the sensual in order to create an unusual yet harmonious experience. A life that’s focussed on what’s truly essential doesn’t mean dispensing with something so much as it does celebrating what we cherish the most.

The spherical interface symbolises intelligence, and as the operating element which is crucially characteristic for the brand, it forms the design centrepiece. The natural, droplet-shaped character of the sphere creates a thrilling contrast and interaction with the monolithic and architectural basic shape of the fundamental body. The absolute claim for quality is setting new benchmarks: a device that avoids using plastic as much as possible, so that water only gets in touch with the “eternal” materials stainless steel and glass – discerning claim and challenge combined

Cover image

Discover how we’ve designed, prototyped, developed and manufactured the water station

Play

SMART BOTTLE – WATER TO GO

02
THE SMART BOTTLE

The stylish “Smart Bottle” is an important companion throughout the LUQEL ecosystem. The stainless steel drinking bottle uses NFC technology (NFC = Near Field Communication), i.e. a smart and seamless connectivity solution – each Water Station uses NFC to recognise the underlying formulation.

Bottlwe strap

The LUQEL drinking bottle transforms the design language of the Water Station into a portable language of forms, supported by a leather carrying loop.

Bottlwe strap

The stainless steel housing and the cap make sure that the water stays at the given temperature as well as BPA-free. In combination with the Water Balancer App, users can use the Water Bottle to personalize their water demand and their preferences at each LUQEL Water Station.

Bottlwe strap

With the One Tap Tracking feature, users can monitor and update their daily water consumption.

03

WATER BALANCER – WATER BALANCER APP

The Water Balancer App calculates the individual water demand based on a complex algorithm and uses smart coaching to help achieve the daily drinking goal.

TO STORY

WATER BALANCER – WATER BALANCER APP

03

The Water Balancer App calculates the individual water demand based on a complex algorithm and uses smart coaching to help achieve the daily drinking goal.

TO STORY

WEB PORTAL

04
Web portal image
icon_device_waterstation+smartbottle
Get to know the product world of an Ecosystem
icon_18dpi_content_wave_copy
With its analogue and digital products, the product world represents the basis for the water revolution: Water Station, Smart Bottle, Water Balancer & App.
icon_action_coach
Create your individual water profile
When you use the ecosystem, we learn more and more about your drinking behaviour, and we are thus able to develop your personal water fingerprint.
icon_water_add
Knowledge around water & minerals
Thanks to a sophisticated content structure, users get offered comprehensive detail knowledge, thus diving deeper and deeper into the world of water.
LUQEL WEB PORTAL

Water as it has never been seen before. The LUQEL web portal acts as the central hub for all user questions, also presenting topics and activities in connection with water. Current information about tap water quality in the respective cities. The web portal provides an overview about the LUQEL product family as well as further services. Using the product configurator, users can learn more about LUQEL products and also buy them. Plus detailed information about the highly developed technologies. Each user can build their own water profile, can access their personal water needs, and find ways to optimise their daily water intake.

Website
Profile picture
Stefan Andreesen Principal Designer
„A project that redefines how water is used in a holistic ecosystem: digital and analog technologies merge and make individualized water possible to improve the enjoyment, well-being and health of users.“

Die Zukunft des Wassers.

EIN ÖKOSYSTEM RUND UM DAS LEBENSMITTEL Nr.1 – DAS WASSER

Phoenix Design entwickelte eine revolutionäre, multifunktionale Plattform rund um die Digitalisierung von Trinkwasser. So entstanden zahlreiche Produkte, welche die Grenzen zwischen digitaler und analoger Welt verschwimmen lassen. Ein Projekt dieses Umfangs wurde in mehrjähriger Zusammenarbeit und etlichen Phasen mit einem Start-up von Grund auf zu einem holistischen und greifbaren Ökosystem neu geformt.

Herausforderungen

Entwicklung eines holistischen Ökosystems von analogen und digitalen Produkten.

Kerninhalte

Branding / Industrial Design / Web & App Design / Design System

Kunde

LUQEL Ltd, Dublin

Water Station
Ökosystem
Web Portal
Water Balancer
Smart Bottle
BAUSTEINE DES ÖKOSYSTEMS

Ein ganzheitlicher Ökosystemansatz kombiniert das Beste aus analoger und digitaler Produktwelt.

ENTDECKEN

Water Station

01
DEIN BESTES WASSER

Was ist das bestmögliche Wasser für unterschiedlichste Bedürfnisse? Individualisiertes Wasser! Für den Tee, nach dem Sport oder zum Wein. Mineralisiert, temperiert und bei Bedarf karbonisiert. Die neuartige Dosiertechnologie von LUQEL ermöglicht höchst präzise, kleinste Mengen an verschiedenen Mineralien für die individualisierten Wasserrezepturen aus einer einzigen phygitalen Quelle hinzuzufügen.

Diese Vielfalt und Präzision war Inspiration für die Markensprache, welche Phoenix Design für LUQEL entwickelte. Diese radikale und absolute Innovation auch im Design erfahrbar zu machen und sich deutlich von anderen Küchengeräten zu differenzieren, war die Aufgabe an das Phoenix Design Team. Eine einzigartige Design-Ikone und ein magisches Produkterlebnis sollten entstehen.

NUTZERZENTRIERTES DESIGN

Unsere persönliche Beziehung zu den Produkten verleiht ihnen Bedeutung, eine Essenz, die über ihre physikalischen Eigenschaften hinausgeht. Menschliche Bedürfnisse werden zunehmend nicht mehr nur durch Form und Funktion befriedigt, sondern durch multisensorische Erfahrungen und individuelle Bedeutung. Wir müssen uns in die Menschen einfühlen, wir müssen wissen, wer sie sind, woher sie kommen, was sie brauchen, erwarten und wünschen.

Unser Fokus galt deshalb stets dem nutzerzentrierten Anspruch, welcher sich über die intelligente Bedienung bis hin zum gesamten, digitalen Ökosystem konsistent durchzieht. So wird z.B. die „Water Bottle“ per RFID-Chip erkannt und in ein intelligentes Bedienkonzept eingebunden, das eine „Seamless Experience“ ermöglicht. Auch das Format der „Water Station“ ist nutzerzentriert gedacht und lässt durch seine geringe Bautiefe immer noch genügend Platz zum Agieren auf der Arbeitsplatte.

Slideshow image
Slideshow image
Slideshow image
WATER STATION – DIE ERSTE IHRER ART

Reduktion und Perfektion waren schon immer die Hauptziele sowohl für Handwerker als auch für Erfinder, denn das Unwesentliche zu vermeiden bedeutet, das Wichtige zu betonen. Bei der Entstehung der LUQEL Ikone wollten wir ein Maximum an Ausdruckskraft mit einem Minimum an Ausdrucksmitteln erreichen. Wir versuchten, das Visuelle, das Taktile und das Sinnliche wirksam auszubalancieren, um ein ungewöhnliches, aber harmonisches Erlebnis zu schaffen. Ein Leben, das auf das Wesentliche ausgerichtet ist, bedeutet weniger Verzicht als vielmehr das zu feiern, was wir am meisten schätzen.

Das kugelförmige Interface symbolisiert Intelligenz und steht als ein markenprägendes Bedienelement im Mittelpunkt des Designs. Der natürliche, tropfenartige Charakter der Kugel befindet sich in einer spannenden Wechselwirkung zur monolithischen und architektonischen Grundform des Grundkörpers. Der absolute Qualitätsanspruch setzt dabei neue Maßstäbe: ein Gerät, das weitestgehend auf Kunststoff verzichtet und in dem Wasser nur mit den „ewigen“ Materialien Edelstahl und Glas in Berührung kommt – es war Anspruch und Herausforderung zugleich.

Cover image

Entdecke, wie wir die Wasserstation entworfen, prototypisiert, entwickelt und hergestellt haben

Play

SMART BOTTLE – WATER TO GO

02
DIE SMART BOTTLE

Die elegante „Smart Bottle“ ist ein wichtiger Begleiter durch das LUQEL Ökosystem. Die Edelstahl-Trinkflasche verwendet die NFC-Technologie (Near Field Communication), eine intelligente und nahtlose Konnektivitätslösung – jede Water Station erkennt durch NFC die hinterlegte Rezeptur.

Bottlwe strap

Die LUQEL Trinkflasche übersetzt die Designsprache der Wasserstation in eine tragbare Formensprache, unterstützt durch eine Trageschlaufe aus Leder.

Bottlwe strap

Das Edelstahlgehäuse und die Kappe sorgen dafür, dass das Wasser temperaturgesteuert und BPA-frei bleibt. In Verbindung mit der Water Balancer App können Benutzer mit der Smart Bottle ihren Wasserbedarf und ihre Vorlieben an jeder LUQEL Wasserstation personalisieren.

Bottlwe strap

Mit der One-Tap-Tracking Funktion können Nutzer ihren täglichen Wasser Verbrauch überwachen und aktualisieren.

03

WATER BALANCER – WATER BALANCER APP

Die Water Balancer App berechnet anhand eines komplexen Algorithmus den individuellen Wasserbedarf und hilft durch smartes Coaching, das tägliche Trinkziel zu erreichen.

Zur Story

WATER BALANCER – WATER BALANCER APP

03

Die Water Balancer App berechnet anhand eines komplexen Algorithmus den individuellen Wasserbedarf und hilft durch smartes Coaching, das tägliche Trinkziel zu erreichen.

Zur Story

WEB PORTAL

04
Web portal image
icon_device_waterstation+smartbottle
Lerne die Produktwelt eines Ökosystems kennen
icon_18dpi_content_wave_copy
Die Produktwelt bildet durch seine analogen und digitalen Produkte das Fundament zur Revolution des Wassers: Water Station, Smart Bottle, Water Balancer & App.
icon_action_coach
Entwerfe dein individuelles Wasserprofil
Durch Nutzung des Ökosystems lernen wir dein Trinkverhalten immer besser kennen und können deinen persönlichen Wasser-Fingerabdruck entwickeln.
icon_water_add
Wissen rund um das Thema Wasser & Mineralien
Durch eine ausgeklügelte Content-Struktur erhält der Nutzer ein umfassendes Detailwissen und taucht dadurch immer tiefer in die Welt des Wassers ein.
WEB PORTAL LUQEL

Wasser, wie es noch nie gesehen wurde. Das LUQEL Webportal fungiert als zentrale Stelle für alle Nutzerfragen sowie Themen und Aktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit Wasser. Aktuelle Informationen über die Leitungswasserqualität in den jeweiligen Städten. Das Webportal gibt einen Überblick über die LUQEL Produktfamilie sowie weitere Services. Mit dem Produkt-Konfigurator können Benutzer LUQEL Produkte erkunden und einkaufen. Außerdem Detailinformationen zu den hoch entwickelten Technologien. Der Nutzer baut sein Wasserprofil auf und kommt so auch an seine persönlichen Wasserbedürfnisse bzw. die Optimierung der täglichen Wasseraufnahme.

Website besuchen
Profile picture
Stefan Andreesen Principal Designer:
„Ein Projekt, dass in einem ganzheitlichen Ökosystem den Umgang mit Wasser völlig neu definiert: Digitale und analoge Technologien verschmelzen und machen individualisiertes Wasser möglich, das Genuss, Wohlbefinden und Gesundheit der Nutzer verbessert.“